Author Topic: Fascia board replacement..  (Read 1380 times)

Incursus

• Blinged Up Pimp
    • View Profile
Fascia board replacement..
« on: June 06, 2014, 09:29:58 am »
I'm looking at replacing the Fascia Boards on the Garage as they've rotted in places.  I've never done it before so any tips?

From what I know they're basically wooden planks nailed to the roof rafters...are they called rafters on a garage?..anyway.. I'm not sure how the Felt is a attached, maybe tacked/nailed? I don't see any but I've not been up a ladder and looked yet.
Would I need to replace the felt?
Most/All of the Fascia board replacements I've found on the interweb are plastic and slightly "L" shaped but the boards on the garage don't appear to be.. perhaps they're just thiner and the "L" at the bottom closes the gap to where the Soffit would normally be, or am I looking for the wrong thing?  Example
Any advice appreciated.

Some pics.

Ta.

Titsy

• Pimp
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2014, 09:34:37 am »
Top tip is go uPVC! I think you can get everything you need from Wickes and it will be far less faff.

I can lend you a miter circular saw (good for plastic or wood) whichever way you intend to do it as it will speed up the job no end.

EDIT

The L-Shape is intended to cap a wooden board, which means you don't have to faff to with finishing it so long as you have treated timber.

Incursus

• Blinged Up Pimp
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2014, 09:37:52 am »
Quoting: Titsy
Top tip is go uPVC! I think you can get everything you need from Wickes and it will be far less faff.

Yup I was planning too as you say less hassle and would match the house, I'm just not sure about the "L" shape part.

I can lend you a miter circular saw (

Ta muchly

Incursus

• Blinged Up Pimp
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2014, 09:40:25 am »
The L-Shape is intended to cap a wooden board, which means you don't have to faff to with finishing it so long as you have treated timber.