Author Topic: Noob Alert - Gaming Comp...  (Read 1242 times)

Andy

Noob Alert - Gaming Comp...
« on: November 12, 2010, 08:35:31 pm »
After owning my Mac for a year I thought I'd never look at a PC again, until about a week ago I wasn't but now my brothers emigrating away he's left me a big white tower 'gaming' comp for me to get my kicks on Flight Sim (sad i know) and Halo on Steam. - Does the last bit make sense 'cos I ain't got a clue what it means, its just what he said to me!

Anyway, I'm new to this stuff so I suppose I'm sort of asking for a 'rate my system' and what can I do to improve it.

It's running Windows XP, Pentium D 3Ghz CPU with (now) 1Gb of RAM. It was running 2Gb extended but something went 'tits up' on start up and pulling the extra RAM bar cured it.

The Video card is 'beefy' as he put it, details are Nvida GeForce 7600n GT. So I don't believe I have to do anything there. The sound card is also pretty sufficent for what I need.

So suggestions please as to what I can do to pimp it. He suggested a new case might be an idea and also a USB card as the motherboard ones are a bit, well, shit.

As you might be able to tell, i know jack all about PC, so any help greatly appreciated!

Cunning Plan

• Mega Ho
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2010, 10:25:10 pm »
You know that Steam works on Mac now - right?

I run a PC running Snow Leopard (don't ask) but steam runs great
1968 VW T2 Bay Bus (currently being restored and upgraded)
1999 Jeep Cherokee XJ (modern classic daily driver)

Andy

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2010, 10:39:20 pm »
I don't have a clue what Steam is... (really, really hot water? )

I so happy with my Mac I don't really want to put a lot on it, apart from my iTunes and Photo stuff (already taking up a 1/4 of the drive - and two backups)

Andy

« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2010, 10:44:36 pm »
Scratch Halo... Half-Life..

FUBAR

• Big Daddy Pimp
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2010, 01:23:32 am »
Quoting: Andy