Author Topic: Camaro News !  (Read 2228 times)

F Body

• Trainee Gangsta
    • View Profile
Camaro News !
« on: March 14, 2015, 12:49:58 pm »
Last week I turned down a reasonable offer for the Camaro because I know I'll really regret selling her.
So this week I've been sprucing her up a bit, before deciding whether to go for a full on restoration to factory fresh standard  ???

After a good clean and very close inspection, despite still having a very good shine, it became apparent that over the last couple of years the paint has got some swirl marks, from being washed and dried  :down:

So it was time to break out the cutting compound and machine polisher  :polish:

WARNING :Unless you know what your doing do NOT attempt to machine cut any painted surface, it is very sensitive to pressure and any curved or corner surfaces. In seconds you can do serious damage to your paint work and I've had a few years experience !

It's also worth noting that it makes one hell of mess with compound going everywhere, so wear overalls, glasses and be prepared for a big clean up operation  :down:

It took me about 2 hours to machine and hand cut the bodywork and then a dam site longer to clean the compound off. I've learnt that the best way to remove it, is firstly with a dry clean polishing cloths over all paint work, then the same process using slightly dam cloths, then apply final coat polish thickly over the paintwork, allow to dry and then polish off.

This removes about 95% of the compound, then tackle the corners and joints etc and polish off. Then finally apply a light coat of polish to the whole car, allow to dry and polish off to a mega swirl free shine  8)

NB : This is only the second time in 15 years that she has had a deep cut and red is the best colour to do it with !

Then spend the rest of the weeks spare time detailing :

Also gave the interior a top detailing after parking under a tree last Saturday with the T Tops off  :homer:

Incursus

• Blinged Up Pimp